Some people believe that artificial intelligence (AI) will create more job opportunities in the future, while others think it will cause massive unemployment. Discuss both views and give your own opinion

Artificial intelligence has been popularised in many parts of the world due to its capability to emulate human-level intelligence in completing different tasks. Some argue that AI will eliminate the need for human workers in the future as AI took over the jobs, however, I believe that AI will provide more employment opportunities as more infrastructures are built to support the development of AI.

On the one hand, the current development of AI has reached an unprecedented level that many entry-level jobs are being replaced and automated using AI. As a result, many companies have announced layoffs to reduce redundancy in positions that could be replaced with AI to reduce operating cost. Furthermore, the rise of AI has also boosted the overall productivity as it provides expertise in different domains to an average worker, which subsequently reduce the number of employees needed in completing the same task.

On the other hand, the resources and infrastructures required to maintain and develop AI will create more employment opportunities. The development of AI, ranging from training of AI to maintaining key infrastructures such as data centres, requires a significant amount of energy. As a result, technologies companies such as Microsoft and Meta has been eyeing to build nuclear powerplants to provide the energy required to continue developing AI, and build new data centres around the world to support different regions, which will subsequently lead to an increase in employment opportunities.

In conclusion, although the AI trend has been a major concern in many parts of the world as it contributes to unemployment, I believe that the building of new infrastructures required to support AI development will ultimately lead to more employment opportunities. This ensures the development of technology while reducing the risk of social cohesion due to unemployment.