Some people believe that children should be banned from using their phones during the school day. Others believe that children should be allowed to use their phones. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. You should spend about 40 minutes on this task.

The use of phones have became more and more common over the years and today, almost everybody carries a mobile phone either kid or an adult. Should the phones be allowed during the school or not? I strongly belive that mobiles should not be permitted in shools but a group of people holds an opposite opinion. In this essay, I’ll elaborate on both views and why I think the phones should be banned.

Those who think children should be allowed to use phone in shools argu that these are productivity tools to enhance the performance and overall throughput of students. Taking a picture of white board instead of taking notes, for instance, allows one to focus more on learning the concepts discussed instead of writing them down. Moreover, facility to store multiple books on one’s phone and download a book instantly eliminates the excuse of forgeting the book at home. This led people to believe that mobiles are necessary tools for study and schools must allow their usage.

Despite the obvious benefits, I along with other group of people believe that mobiles should be banned and we have our own reasons. Although the mobiles are made to improve efficiency and save time, their inappropriate usage waste time of students. For example, students keep messaging and engage in useless communication over mobiles during class instead of focusing on the lecture. In addition, watching social media during lecture is a growing activity distracting teenagers from achieving the actual goal of going to school, which is study. All of these reasons made parents believe that mobiles are more dangerous than beneficial hence their usage should be restricted.

In conclusion, though mobiles are made for increasing productivity, they are being used inappropriately in schools and hence, should be banned.