Some people believe that children should start learning a foreign language at primary school, while others think it is better to wait until secondary school. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

The debate surrounding the foreign language has gained considerable attention in recent years. While some argue that students should start learning a foreign language in high school, others maintain that they should start learning in primary school. This essay will examine both viewpoints before presenting my own stance.

On one hand, mastering foreign language at primary school offers several benefits. Firstly, it is easy to learn a non-native language when children are younger, because their learning capabilities are very commendable at younger age. Not only that, studying a new language demands loads of time and students can deliver that demand while having primary education. As there are fewer complex subjects in primary schooling, they can grasp the new language without disturbing their academic studies.

On the other hand, understanding the foreign language at secondary schooling is much better. Generally, the children in high school are more mature compared to the children in primary education, due to which they can learn new languages way faster. Furthermore, the curriculum of a high school student is more complex and learning a foreign language can contribute to a well balanced curriculum because of less complexity compared to subjects like Mathematics, Physics and Chemistry . Moreover, students studying in secondary school have clearer goals for their life, which can contribute to choosing a non native language which aligns with their future goals.

In conclusion, I believe that children should start learning a new language when they are having their primary education. There are several advantages to that, like they have more time to grasp a new language compared to the students pursuing their high school. Also, if they start early they will have a better grip of language. Moreover, it’s best for student mental stability to start learning a non native language at primary school because of less complex subjects in the curriculum.