Some people believe that children should start school at a very early age, while others think they should begin later. Do the advantages of early schooling outweigh the disadvantages?

In some countries, children begin formal education at five years old, while in other nations, young minds do not have to start school until they are six or seven. In my opinion, while starting schools early can be beneficial to children, its disadvantages far outweigh its advantages.

Admittedly, beginning formal education at an early age can prepare children better for their upcoming school years. When starting schools at the age of five, children are more exposed to a structured environment and routine. Participating in school activities, paying attention to teachers in classes, and learning to make new friends are all things that children will encounter when they attend schools. Children are also required to comply with school rules and adjust their daily habits, in order to finish their school tasks or simply to go to schools on time. This means that youngsters are familiarized with school environment and studying at their developmental stages, helping them to be more confident and mentally prepared. Consequently, by familiarizing children with school activities, starting formal education early can help children be more prepared for their school years.

Nevertheless, I believe that the disadvantages of starting schools early outweigh its benefits. One main downside is that attending schools at the age of five might deprive children of their play-based activities. Going to schools means that children have to spend half a day studying at educational institutions from Monday to Friday, and it also takes them about 2 hours to finish their homework. Some children who struggle to learn might even be compelled to join after-school tutoring sessions. Thus, these activities nearly take up all children’s time, leaving a little time for their play-based activities. Hence, children might be unable to spend time playing and exploring their surroundings with friends. Consequently, children go to schools early at the expense of their playtime. Another disadvantage is that starting formal education early might negatively affect children’s mental health. Tests and homework are the common things at schools, but young children cannot bear this burden from their school workloads. This, in the long run, might significantly undermine their mental well-being and make them feel overwhelmed. Consequently, children may be reduced to stress and anxiety.

All things considered, while starting school early might be beneficial for children, its disadvantages on children’s play-based activities and mental health are more significant.