Some people believe that children that commit crimes should be punished. Others think the parents should be punished instead. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

There is a debate about whether children or their parents should be punished if they commit crimes. Although I acknowledge that there are certain benefits of punishing parents, I strongly support those who consider that children themselves should be held accountable for their crimes.

The advocates of the view that parents should be responsible for their children’s wrongdoings cite several reasons. Modern lifestyle has made parents spend long hours at work so as to earn enough money to support their families. This trend, however, is coming at the expense of time spent with family members, particularly children. Without proper supervision, children are often spending time playing different violent video games and watching R-rated movies. Some of them, as a result, may step into the world of crime by imitating the actions they see in those contents, committing crimes such as shoplifting, pickpocketing, and even burglary. Some people, therefore, claim that parents should be punished instead of their children.

Notwithstanding the aforementioned arguments, I believe that parents are not guilty of the crimes committed by their children. This is because when children are committing some type of offences, they are often aware of the fact that their actions are wrong and even know the possible consequences. The mass shootings that have happened in many schools of the USA can exemplify this case. In those situations, the teenagers fully knew that they were involved in serious crimes, which means their parents are totally innocent of these actions.

I, therefore, support the people who believe that children themselves should be held accountable for their crimes. As mentioned earlier, children are normally conscious of the consequences of their illegal actions. Unless the offenders are punished on time, it may result in breeding crimes among young people, giving the idea that their age can help bypass the laws. To avoid such amiserable outcome, immediate actions – imprisonment, community services, probations, and detentions – should be taken. Not only does it act as a deterrent, but also make the upcoming generation more responsible members of the society.

In conclusion, I understand the views of those supporting the punishment of parents rather than children. However, I incline to the notion that children themselves should bear the responsibility of their crimes, considering their awareness and possible benefits to the whole society.