SOME PEOPLE BELIEVE THAT ELECTRIC VEHICLES SHOULD REPLACE PETROL AND DIESEL CARS IN THE NEAR FUTURE. DO YOU AGREE OR DISAGREE

In recent years, electric vehicles are becoming increasingly popular because they are better for the environment. It is widely argued that these electric vehicles should completely substitute fuel-powered cars in the upcoming years. I strongly agree with this view/notion because electric vehicles can reduce air pollution and help protect the environment.

The first reason why electric vehicles should replace conventional cars is that they can significantly reduce air pollution, which is one of the major challenges faced by modern cities. Unlike petrol and diesel vehicles, electric vehicles do not directly emit harmful gases like carbon dioxide, methane, etc which are the major causes of air pollution and climate change. As a result, the use of zero-emission vehicles can not only improve air quality but also reduce the risk of respiratory diseases. For instance, several countries have reported lower emissions level after promoting electric cars.

Another benefit is that it reduces a country’s dependence on imported fuel. Many nations purchase large quantities of petrol and diesel from gulf countries with higher prices. By using electric-powered vehicles, countries can rely more on domestically generated electricity and reduce their fuel import and save economy for others sector. For example, India imports a large amount of crude oil from Iran. Therefore, greater use of electric vehicles could help reduce its dependence on foreign fuel and save economy.

In conclusion although the lack of unavailability of charging stations still exists, I firmly believe that electric vehicles should be highly promoted in the future, because it offers numerous environmental benefits and ultimately cut down dependences on other country for fuel.