Some people believe that giving longer prison sentences is the best way to reduce crime. Others believe that there are better ways to reduce crime. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

When discussing crime, it is a common belief that longer sentences would be an effective way of decreasing its incidence, although some argue that this strategy is highly dysfunctional and should be substituted by more conscious options. This essay will examine both perspectives and explain why alternative crime punishments are by far the superior choice.

The request for longer sentences is often driven by the belief that having a criminal spend decades in jail can somehow right their wrongs. A similar declaration was made in the “Kayle Case”, two years ago, where the family of the victim felt like their daughter’s aggressor had not received a proper punishment and that only a life-long sentence could mend their wounds. Another significant component is the fear of the convicted. Once they have done their time, society is rarely ready to welcome them back. On the contrary, people would rather have them spend more time in prison to avoid dealing with them. A striking proof of this was given by the protests held last month in New York city, where employees were denouncing their factory for allowing ex-cons to work amongst them without declaring it.

On the other hand, some have a more open approach to the issue and think that it would be more effective to have criminals follow alternative pathways of punishment. This view is not only the most functional at both individual and collective levels, but it is also the most humane. The rationale is that the best way to balance a crime is by giving that person the tools to contribute to the society that they harmed. This includes providing ex-cons with access to education and psychological rehabilitation. Following this mindset, a community centre in Madrid has decided to open an evening school for those that have served prison sentences in the past. The centre also organises volunteering activities in the weekends throughout the city. Since the beginning of this initiative, crime rates in the neighbourhood have dropped by 20% and will probably keep falling.

Overall, the best option to create a safe society and a functional justice system would be to establish shorter sentences, associated with comprehensive re-integration programs. This would guarantee a rightful treatment of the convict as a human being, still allowing for proper punishment and contributing to lower criminality.