Some people believe that governments should have access to people's mobile phone call records and messages for safety reasons. Others believe that this information is private and should not be available without permission. Discuss both these views and give your opinion.

Technology and communication play a big role in today’s daily life. While some agree that governments should have access to mobile phone records and messages for safety reasons, other claim that it is an ivasion of the citizens privacy and should not be permitted.In this essay, I will disscuss both arguments in turns and I will provide my opinion.

On the one hand, national security would benefit from accessing to mobile phone records or messages when it would be strictly necessary, in order to fight crime. Accessing all the data would create safer countries and will save millions of lifes. For instance, If the government thought that terrorists were planning an attack, they could access the citizens mobiles to try and find those criminals and stop them. Moreover, if you are a model citizen you should not need to worry about it, as this measures would only protect you.

On the other hand, accessing your personal data without consent is an invasion of your privacy, limiting your civil rights. Furthermore, some governments are corrupted and they could use this information obtained through your electronic devices with malicious intent. For example, dictatorships could use this information illegally obtained to capture and imprison their political enemies or the citizens that do not share the same ideology to them. For that reason, new and strict laws should be created to prevent this from happening.

In conclusion, technology is a powerful and important tool in our modern society. Whereas some people claim that giving governments full access to their personal data could be detrimental, invading their privacy and this information being misused, I strongly believe that the benefits obtained from sharing this information outweigt the possible disadvantages.