Some people believe that governments should have access to people's mobile phone call records and messages for safety reasons. Others believe that this information is private and should not be available without permission. Discuss both these views and give your opinion.

It is believed by some that governments should be allowed to access and record individual’s mobile phone calls and messages for safety reasons. Conversely, others are on the opinion that this should be private, and it should not be done without permission. I strongly agree with the second statement because from my perspective, everyone’s information should be private, unless there are the right reasons.

On the one hand, if governments had free access to pople’s phone could be very useful to ensure citizen a better safety level. This is because many problems could be solved before that they happen. Let’s think about drug dealing for example. If governments were allowed to read and listen messages and calls of people, they probably would be facilitated to track down drug dealers because they would have more information. A further main example could be if governments prevent a terrorist attack by tracking someone’s call.

On the other hand, people should be free to say and text whatever they want. I believe that would be unfair if these type of informations were totaly accessible by governments. Beside being part of our privacy, governments should not be allowed to do that becuase they have already many means to know enough of our sensitive data. For example, they know perfectly what we do for living, where we live, how much we earn etc.. In addition, if there is a doubt about something reletad to our life, the authorities responsible for controlling can ask proplerly for a permission, for instance, if there is a legal process in which a persos is involved.

In conclusion, even though it would be helpful in several cases, I stronly believe that governments should not be allowed to check our messages and calls without apermission because it would be a violation of privacy.