Some people believe that governments should invest more in public libraries than sports facilities. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Many argue that authorities should allocate more funding to public libraries rather than sports amenities. I strongly disagree with this view, as both types of infrastructure are required to meet the needs of society

One major reason why I do not support this view is that people have different preferences in how to spend their free time. Paying attention to their well-being and fitness, some choose a career in sports; meanwhile, there are individuals who like reading books, which add to their general knowledge. As a result, considering various interests, governments should prioritize investment in both public libraries and sports facilities.

Another important reason is that investing more in public libraries can lead to individuals overlooking physical health and sports. While well-constructed, modern libraries encourage people to read in order to expand their wisdom, underdeveloped and old gyms or stadiums will not attract people to participate in sports. Since both activities contribute to personal well-being in different ways, both types of facilities should be receiving funds equally.