Some people believe that governments should invest more in public transportation instead of building new roads for cars. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Many people think that public transportation should be invested by government rather than building new roads. I totally agree with this because it could decrease the pollution in a city. Also, the traffic congestion problems might be solved.

One of the biggest problems in every major cities around the word is the traffic congestion. This is due to the fact that there are more people move into the city for working. A lot of private cars will be driven on the road which cause a traffic jam. Thus, if the state can spend their money for good public transportation system, such as bus, train, and etc. Buying private cars is not necessary for the citizens in a town anymore. For example, the public vehicles in Japan are very well known about their qualities especially the trains. There are many classes of the trains such as JR and Shinkanzen that Japanese citizens can use to travel around their country.

The another benefit for public transportation is that the amount of pollution in a town might decrease. This is because there will be only few vehicles on the roads. The more using in public vehicle services, the less amount of carbon dioxide will be created by the combustion engines. According to the ministry of health in Thailand, they have done a study and its result shows that the amount of air pollution in Bangkok will decrease around 3% in every 10000 persons who change from going to office by private cars to BTS sky train which is a public transportation.

From these reasons, I totally agree that government should focus their investment to public transit system instead of constructing more roads. This will decrease the traffic congestion problems in cities and their people will have a fresh air for their lives thanks to a lower pollution in the city..