Some people believe that governments should invest more in the improvement of public services, while others think more spending should be directed toward scientific research. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Nowadays, environment plays a crucial role in living a beneficial life. As a result, the governments are taking serious action to reduce the negative impacts of environmental issues. Some individuals believe that spending money on protecting the environment is essential, because they consider it as part of our life. However, other people think that this money should be spent on the public goods and services such as the education, utilities, and transportation. This essay will discuss both perspectives and provide real examples.

Regarding the first view, spending on the environment is vital, because it will enhance our lives in several ways, most importantly, it will enhance the quality of food by reducing the air pollution which is the main cause of this issue. For instance, there was research conducted by Oxford University showing that around 76% of the United Arab Emirates citizens are living in healthy conditions due to improvements in air quality and environmental policies.

On the other hand, some people argue that spending money on protecting the environment is not the best use of resources, while investing in the public utilities and services is important, because it offers numerous opportunities and there are positive outcomes reflected in society. Investing in education can provide new jobs and improve the education standards. For example, in 2020, UAE allocated 21 billions to improve the transportation system and to build new metro stations, as a result there was a noticeable in the crowded rates by 31% in that year.

To sum up, this essay discussed both perspectives and provided some examples. As far as I am concerned, both arguments should be taken seriously, and a balanced approach is essential.