Some people believe that harsher punishments reduce crime. Others argue that education and social reform are more effective solutions. Discuss both views and give your opinion

Many individuals are of the opinion that providing longer prison sentences is the best remedy to decrease lawbreakers. Conversely, others contend that education and social programs play a more vital role in preventing criminal behavior. In this essay, I will evaluate both schools of thought before proposing my own perspective.

On the one hand, there are major rationales why longer prison sentences can effectively decline crime. Firstly, protracted prison sentences can make a portion of individuals intending to commit feel cautious when acting. In this contemporary society, criminal situation has dramatically increased, negatively affecting social security. Hence, this requires bureaucratic administration to implement more rigid policies to guarantee the stability of society. A prime illustration of this point is El Salvador, where places one of the most contemporary prisons – CECOT. Since the new president took office, CECOT has been built to decrease crime rate as well as earn the trust from citizens. This positively diminishes the proportion of lawbreakers and gangsters in this nation because of strict policies and better consciousness from residents. Another reason is the influence on criminals’ psychology. Regarding the current situation among some jails, a major portion of lawbreakers can be afraid of long prison sentences, limiting their time to gather their families and relatives. Thus, they will actively improve themselves to be reintroduced and continue their work and social activities.

On the other hand, I am strongly persuaded that reasonable education and social programs can positively contribute to diminishing crime rate. A portion of people firmly believe that education is the platform of actions among each person. Receiving better education from school can navigate people’s behavior and personality, not only reduce criminal rate but also create a more well-rounded individual. Furthermore, letting people participate in social activities can help them gradually realize the value of life and surrounding events, leading to more progressive citizens and civilization. Achieving them requires long-term strategies from both residents and governments.

In conclusion, while some take the view that providing protracted prison sentences can effectively decrease crime rate, I strongly contend that people should receive early education from school and opportunities to engage in social programs, making them more progressive and well-rounded individuals.