Some people believe that having a university degree is the best way to secure a good job. However, others think that work experience is more valued by employers. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Nowadays, there is an ongoing debate about whether a university degree should be prioritized over hands-on experience while choosing a candidate. This essay will elaborate on why qualified workers benefit companies and how experienced interviewers might not follow the modern trends.

To begin with, most individuals, after graduating from school, enroll in college to obtain their first degree. This kind of path has been followed by people of different generations and perceived as a traditional one. Not only does tertiary education provide students with essential knowledge in the particular field, but it also allows them to be more flexible in two ways. First of all, by acquiring various skills one can learn how to manage their time, delegate tasks, as well as deal with conflicts. Secondly, universities and colleges encourage undergraduates to apply for internships, where they can fully test their knowledge and demonstrate their potential. Consequently, by the end of the study, students are well-qualified members of their future careers. According to the study conducted by Numbeo, an organization in the USA, 74% of employees would choose a candidate with a university degree over the person with work experience.

However, few would claim that work experience is more valuable and should not be neglected. While this is true, it is pivotal to take modern changes into account. A practitioner with years of work might not know all the peculiarities of the profession. As they did not attend higher education institutions, their working style formed in the past might not suit modern realities. Although some purchase temporary courses, certain kinds of information cannot be found in open educational resources, making individuals with experience fall behind.

To summarize, I believe that HR-agents should carefully analyse the CVs and conduct detailed interviews for potential workers. Everyone can apply for the job. Nevertheless, work recruiters are bound to hire educated people with an obtained degree, since it is more preferential in today’s work environment.