Some people believe that in today's society, individuals should be free to express their opinions openly, even if those opinions are offensive to others. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some individuals claim that sharing opinions openly towards others should be accepted, regardless of how offensive they are. I partly disagree with this statement as it can encourage people for freedom of expression and social progress, the harm for one’s mental well-being and increasing number of social conflicts should also be taken into account.

On the one hand, exchanging views freely even if those are considered to be controversial, can be beneficial for individuals. Firstly, people can have a right to express their opinions openly in public discussions or even daily communication with others which can be simply called “Society”. As an example, by speaking freely, some bad actions which have been ignored or not addressed yet for a long time time by the principals can be easily prevented by individuals if they join together and share opinions. Secondly, it can have considerably efficient impact on social development. As people start expressing their opinions in a society without being afraid or judged, democracy can also be promoted. For example, many unfair laws or even some traditions can openly be discussed by society and can be challenged in a public discussions in order to avoid them. As a result, customs or changes which considered unjust for individuals can be changed.

On the other hand, any statements with an insulting or hurtful tone should not be allowed to be voiced and cannot be tolerated by both the government and people. Expressing views openly with a disrespectful claim may have a substantial negative effect on one’s mental health. For instance, if this action will be normalized among individuals, the number of resentments might rise and can even create emotional distress. Moreover, it should also be noted that, as there are more people who share their views freely, the number of different beliefs can definitely increase. As an example, if a person starts talking straight about one problem in order to deal with it, the other may have a very different idea which may lead to the disagreement among individuals. Thus, sharing opinions openly cannot only have a bad effect on people’s mental health but also can have an impact an increasing number of conflicts which can be awoken as the result of having various claims.

In conclusion, I believe that everyone has the right to express their views freely and publicly. However, this freedom should be balanced by not offending others and preventing any negative consequences.