Some people believe that learning a second language should be mandatory for all students in schools. Others think that it should be optional, depending on the student's interest and career goals. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

While some people argue that all students should be forced to learn a second language, others think that it is up to the students’ interest and career goals. In my view, students should have the right to decide as to whether they study a second language for several reasons.

On the one hand, making learning another language compulsory to students has some significant benefits. Firstly, children aged from 5-13, are able to learn faster and grasp information better, including learning a new language. Secondly, children would have opportunities to communicate with people globally, and think more rationally when speaking the language which is not their mother tongue. For example, some studies have found that people tend to be more rational when they speak another language because of the impact of learners’ academic environment such as universities and schools.

However, it does not mean that forcing students to learn extra languages is beneficial. Firstly, children are under pressure because of excessive subjects and activities at school which already exhaust them. Should we keep forcing students to study supplementary languages, it can lead to a high level of anxiety, stress and depression. Secondly, students may feel less motivated and unenthusiastic about learning languages. That’s because they do not have the right to explore their own interests or career goals to decide whether to learn a new language or not. For example, there are some jobs which do not require English such as kitchen staff, Youtuber partner and taxi driver.

In conclusion, while the advantages of learning new languages are undeniable, the decision to learn additional languages should be left to each student. Instead of making it compulsory, students should have the right to explore their own career goals and interests as to whether they study new languages.