Some people believe that modern architecture has made cities more attractive in the last century. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is considered by some that contemporary architectural style has attracted more people to cities in recent decades. I am not fully agree with this statement, in my opinion the attractiveness and beauty of the municipality depends not only on modern buildings, but also on other factors.

On the one hand, futuristic homes and structures have a really good design, and can provide comfortable, high-tech apartments or offices for people who live there. This will definitely attract investors and hurry them up to buy such accommodation. Also, some buildings can be a visit card of the country, because of their architecture. For example, Burj Khalifa in Dubai – the highest skyscraper or Opera Theatre in Sydney, are some of the greatest structures in the world. Both are drawing an enormous number of tourists and boost a local sense of identity.

On the other hand, some urban areas are becoming full of uniform tower blocks, this tendency makes city distasteful and monotonous. For instance, the non-public areas of New York or other big cities do not have any green spot or area for people to relax, only concrete and a lot of cars. This might be uncomfortable for residents and annoys them. Moreover, we should preserve an old historical buildings, as they can be beautiful and have their own identity and meaning. Which in turn attracts people and make them satisfied of their living place.

In conclusion, a modern architecture that is convenient and unusual, provides a lot of opportunities and attracts everyone. But, if the city is overcrowded with the same towers with no sense, I think residents will be unhappy and feel bad about them. Therefore, we should create more green zones and keep old houses to maintain the charm and aesthetic appeal of urban areas.