Some people believe that modern designs for schools and offices with more open spaces are necessary. What are the advantages and disadvantages of such spaces?

People have different views about open spaces in schools and offices. Although some people believe they should be used widely because of its benefits, many others disagree. This essay will discuss some of its major advantages and disadvantages.

On one hand, open spaces offer several merits. The first one is that it facilitates teamwork and idea-sharing. People working in open space offices are likely to communicate more, as there are no barriers in between. As a result, the team can solve problems significantly faster, enhancing their efficiency in working. Secondly, open spaces are more cost-effective. This type of office is less expensive than traditional cubicle offices, as the company does not have to spend money buying barriers or partitions. Moreover, the office can be rearranged to make better use of space when the office grows instead of buying more facilities.

On the other hand, there are some drawbacks of open space designs. To begin with, there will be no privacy in open space offices. This is because there are no barriers in between, people can always know what is happening around them, making it more difficult to have sensitive conversation or confidential work. In addition, it will be harder to concentrate in open space offices. People are easier to be interrupted by visual and auditory distractions from surroundings, leading to the decrease in focus and productivity. This type of office can be used in research settings where it requires deep concentration and thinking.

In conclusion, although there are some advantages of open spaces, such as: encouraging team-working and cost-effectiveness, there are some listed disadvantages: lack of privacy and more distractions.