Some people believe that modern designs for schools and offices with more open spaces are necessary. What are the advantages and disadvantages of such spaces?

It is commonly known that modern design with more open areas is needed for students at school and workers at office, but others say that it may not beneficial. In my opinion, there are advantages such as, enhancing sociability and increasing creativity. Also, they have drawbacks such as, producing more noise and decreasing productivity.

Schools that are built with a lot of spaces give more chance to students for socializing with their friends. Together, they can use the open space to discuss about the subject that they are still confused with. For instance, in the break time they can use school park that provides a comfortable discussion because of its ambience and fresh air. On the other hand, workers often get advantage from the open space because they can get many inspirations for their work. They can discuss ideas with their peer at work to get better understanding results of their job.

While it provides advantages for students and workers, it also has negative impacts such as more noise produced and decreasing productivity. When a lot of students use the open space, it will be so noisy. Students cannot concentrate with their discussion and often get distracted by others. However, workers will decrease their productivity if they cannot manage their time well in terms of discussion with their peer at work. They often get distracted by their peers and started not doing anything rather than chatting all day with them.

In conclusion, despite all of the advantages that are provided by modern designs with open spaces such as enhancing sociability among students and increasing creativity for workers. It also has its disadvantages such as, producing more noise on school area and decreasing productivity among workers.