Some people believe that more actions can be taken to prevent crime, while others think that little can be done. Discuss both sides and give your own opinion.

Safety is crucial for all of us. While some people argue that more initiatives should be done to stop crime, others believe that limited actions can be done. I strongly believe that governments should implement more efforts to prevent substance and alcohol abuse, as I believe these are the leading cause of crime. In this essay, I will talk about why individuals hope for more actions to be taken to prevent crime, on the other hand, why others believe no need for more actions to be taken.

Drugs and alcohol abuse have become very popular among teenagers. As a result, the rate of crime committed by young individuals has increased dramatically in the last 10 years. Last terrorist attacks in Egypt were done by addicted teens who took more than two hundreds innocent people’s lives. I believe by enforcing strict laws that limit drugs and alcohol abuse and raising the awareness of their side effects on the individuals and the whole community, governments can prevent crime significantly.

A lot of governmental resources have been already allocated for crime prevention. Although, many enforcement agents, expensive technology and several prisons already exist, the crime rate is getting higher every year. For this, many individuals think no more actions and resources can be taken neither by citizens nor governments to reduce illegal activities. In addition, they believe instead of spending more resources on crime prevention, authorities should allocate more money to improve the healthcare system, for example.

In conclusion, safety is essential for the community. People, including me, believe more actions are needed to prevent crime, others believe only limited efforts are needed.