Some people believe that nowadays we have too many choices. To What extent do you agree or disagree?

Although a lot of people believe that nowadays we are privileged with too many options, I somewhat disagree on this opinion. Considering the society that we live in, not everyone is born rich to have this many choices, neither does one desire the same option as the other.

The idea of having a lot of options to choose from comes from the wealth behind those options. You cannot have too many choices if you cannot afford them. For example, If you have a specific budget, you can’t buy any house in the city. You have to look for houses with a less of a spectacular view or maybe just a few miles away from the middle of the city so you can be able to afford it. This limits your options. However, if you are rich enough to buy any house in the city, you have a myriad of options. You can choose a house by the beach, a house with a fascinating view to wake up every morning to, a house in a location that is close to everything around, or even a house with very good security. Consequently, we do not have more options than people had back then.

A lot of people do not desire what others desire because everyone has their own preferabilities and characteristics that sets them apart from others. Therefore, if one chooses something specific out of all the choices he/she has, that doesn’t necessarily mean they had too many choices and had to think about it for a second. Actually, one might not be able to choose any of these choices except for one due to the fact that he/she might not prefer any of them. For instance, 2 sisters living in the same household and exposed to the same opportunities will not necessarily choose the same field to pursue in university. One of them might choose medicine because she doesn’t like anything else but healthcare, the other might hate blood and be really bad at math, so she doesn’t have that many options either.

In conclusion, I agree with the fact that options to choose from have increased in today’s society, but that does not mean that everyone now has too many choices. Someone’s wealth may be way less than the other which makes him/her less accessible to most of the choices the other has. Moreover, people are different and have various desires which makes them short in choices.