Some people believe that old people should take part in sport to stay healthy. Others think there are better ways for old people to stay healthy. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Some believe that it is advisable for the elderly to engage in sport to take care of their health. Others, however, argue that the alternatives are superior for this age group. Although sports can be a great way for taking care of health, I would argue that this alone is not enough to safeguard longevity and the approach should be more comprehensive and involve preventative healthcare from medical professionals.

Some people believe that physical exercise is an excellent way to preserve health at this stage of life. This is because regular physical exercise promotes increased blood flow to all the parts of the body, delivering necessary nutrients and removing built-up waste materials and toxins in the form of sweat, as well as breaking down extra fat tissue. For instance, if someone regularly exercises well into their late adulthood, they may not be exposed to obesity that causes high blood pressure and diabetes, which their non-exercising counterparts suffer from. While this is a valid point, many sports involve risks, which are even higher for the elderly. For this reason I believe that there is a better approach.

Others argue that health preservation requires a more holistic approach involving preventative health measures under professional supervision. They posit that an uninformed approach to this issue may lead to unintended consequences that would be otherwise avoided if supervised by a doctor. For example, an elderly man who starts running every morning in order to lose weight might unintentionally cause himself to get knee problems from the repeated stress from his weight hitting his knees. In my view, this clearly illustrates the need for regular consultations with a doctor for senior citizens so that these kinds of problems can be avoided.

To conclude, some believe that older people should exercise to protect their health, while others argue for a more complete approach with geriatric healthcare. I personally would agree with the latter group, considering the risks of unsupervised sports activities for old people. However, this topic involves more variables than can be discussed in this essay, such as diet, mental health and social life.