It was predicted that people in the twenty-first century have more free time than before because of the improvements of technology. To what extent do you think this prediction has come true?

Predictions suggest that the advent of technology can make people’s lives less packed and hectic compared to the past. This, however, has sparked a controversy among many people, with no some believing that the modern reality contrasts sharply with these anticipations. Although I acknowledge that such a view of the 21st century matches well with what was previously predicted, I steadfastly believe that such forecasting did not come true on all fronts.

The rationale behind people’s reasoning who believe that these projections are trustworthy often lies with domestic digital devices and major paradigm shifts in work environments. First and foremost, the widespread adoption of innovation laid the groundwork for new devices, which, in many cases, offload household shores and burdens. Smart-houses, for context, are inextricably linked to Big Data, a technology that allows systems to track apartments’ functionality. In other words, robot vacuum cleaners, washing machines, cooking appliances, dishwashers, and the likes are interconnected to free up individuals’ overloaded schedules. This is only half of the equation, so far as remote working culture is concerned. The crux of the argument is that the invention of computers, mobile phones, laptops – types of portable devices has significantly reshaped labour markets. Given that employees can work from the comfort of their own home and steer clear of relentless commuting, they save up precious time and leave more space for socialisation or personal endeavours. For these reasons, predictions about time availability and technological advances prove true and practical.

However convincing and compelling these arguments may sound, I firmly believe that the pathos of contemporary reality noticeably contradicts anticipations. With the global sweep of state-of-the-art technology and democratic access to cutting-edge devices, time has become a premium commodity. Because internet users keep a facade of normality and normalise endless procrastination, doomscrolling, and dopamine-mining, time remains an elusive destination. For example, instead of searching materials, organising daily plans, and maintaining touch with colleagues, people fall down a rabbit hole and fail to manage time effectively. Such a tendency defeats the very purpose of technology and opposes projections. Another yet often-underrated argument is that unabated access to innovative systems and technological apparatus enables urban areas to evolve faster. Long gone are the days when construction devices were few and far between; nowadays, it is far easier to pave road networks, build residential areas, and other infrastructure. This, by extension, produces cascading effects, as overexposure to traffic jams or urban density forces city dwellers into more time-poor and time-short lifestyles. In light of these issues above, anticipations that technology opens the shutters on more free and less packed daily routines remain flat.

In conclusion, even though there are some instances where the reality meets predictions that innovation gives people more free time, it is my conviction that these perceptions and the modern world are contradictory. Since excessive screen exposure shift attention away from real world to the upturned faces of mobile phones and urban development is more dense and complex, new inventions take away free time rather than offer it.