Some people believe that parents of children who commit crimes should be punished. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Amidst the escalation of juvenile delinquency, some people believe that parents should be held accountable for their children’s crimes. Personally, I disagree with this viewpoint as I find it oversimplifies the issue.

Admittedly, one might argue that adults are expected to maintain a constant sense of practical control over their offspring. To illustrate, parents must not only keep track of their children’s itinerary and leisure pursuits but also decide how much pocket money those possess. Therefore, if the latter engage in illegal activities, the former are partially liable for the incidents because of their poor parenting. However, it is unreasonable to impose the same reasoning on every household. This is because teenagers are entitled to a certain level of autonomy, so they can always break through windows, for instance, to fraternize with delinquent peers. Additionally, most people tend to keep their money in accessible places for convenience, thereby unintentionally abetting their children’s money stealing.

Apart from that, external factors from the environment also contribute to the mental and cognitive development of individuals. For example, the Internet has granted children access to a limitless number of negative websites, a situation exacerbated by the prevalence of personal mobile devices. Furthermore, it is not home but rather school at which teenagers spend most of their waking hours, so their perspectives may be largely influenced by interactions with friends and teachers. This is not to imply that the moral norms, both positive and negative, instilled by parents since one’s childhood cannot shape their behavior. Nevertheless, as some grow up and have their worldview adjusted to their surroundings, they tend to adopt some or even none of the values.

In conclusion, although parents should assume the responsibility to control their own children, it is fundamentally impossible to monitor every aspect of their life, especially when environmental factors like the Internet and schools also play a significant role in shaping a child’s behavior. Thus, I firmly hold my position against the idea that adults should be punished for the minor’s delinquency.