Some people believe that professionals, such as doctors and engineers, should be required to work in the country where they did their training. Others believe they should be free to work in another country if they wish. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

Nowadays, the choice of working in one’s hometown or overseas has sparked public attention. Many people debate whether white-collar job holders, like doctors and engineers, should be employed in their native country. However, opposing this view has a number of contradictory effects. In this essay, I will delve into the reasons for this topic and discuss both sides.

On the one hand, those who support working in their home country promote the idea that professionals need to participate in creating and developing society with their background knowledge and experience. They point to evidence from countries such as Singapore and Thailand, where a majority of professionals work with high pay for their nation, even attracting foreigners who excel in their respective fields. Consequently, the countries’ development is increasing step by step with these corporations, and these countries have been recognized as rich countries within a short period. Furthermore, proponents of employing in one’s home country cite a plethora of opportunities, such as residing with their family and colleagues without subsidizing other factors. To the supporters of the idea, these benefits are convincing.

However, opponents of working in the country where they received their training cite evidence that they are unable to earn an attractive salary because of the country’s conditions, even with experience in their professional fields. They may be forced to work in remote areas, where limited resources prohibit them from exploring their skills, creating a pressurized environment with insufficient infrastructure and capacity. Moreover, government support is a consideration for those who need to implement their projects; without sufficient contribution from authorities, they may face failure, no matter how competent they are. This argument also appears quite powerful.

In conclusion, I would tend to side with people who oppose forcing professionals to work in their home country. It seems unreasonable to force employees to work in their nation; we will not get the full work done if they reside in the country where they trained but are unwilling to perform their job. It would be more logical to allow professionals to choose which nation they want to work for in their career.