Some people believe that research into family history is useful for the next generations, while others claim that present and future are more important. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

There is a debate over the benefits of carrying out research about past ancestors, with some saying it is a worthwhile activity to know about previous generations while others assuming it is superior to focus on present and future. Although living with present would be beneficial, I firmly believe ultimate advantages of finding out about past roots remains highly valuable.

There are valid reasons for preferences for present rather than the past. Many ancestors underwent severe traumas, injustice or failure, and uncovering these struggles leads to unresolved pains and emotional burden. Understanding of adversities of the past can negatively affect on mental well-being. Moreover, the more you are aware of your past roots, the more you are encouraged unhealthy comparisons. If our ancestors were highly accomplished, individuals may feel inadequate or pressured to match their achievements, whereas learning about failures of the previous generations can generate guilt or fear of repeating the same mistakes.

On the other hand, researching family history offers numerous benefits. First, awareness of one’s ancestors may provide you with psychological stability. When you know about your past, you are less prone to feel confused, lost, or easily influenced by others. In addition, history is precious source of lessons avoiding the past mistakes. Financial failures, broken relationships or missed chance are the warnings, for not repeated errors. Lastly, people are highly inspired and motivated to an action when they assume themselves as the turning point of the generation, enhancing long-term family position for future.

In conclusion, although discovering about previous generations can lead some emotional issues, there are several advantages of awareness of family background. Therefore, I tend to believe that the ultimate aids of our history should not be overlooked.