Some people believe that school should teach practical skills, such as managing money, while others think academic subjects should be prioritized. Discuss both views and give your opinion :

Whether schools should teach real-world competencies or intellectual pursuits is a worldwide controversy. This essay will delve into the necessity of developing practical skills yet will illustrate the intellectual nature of scholarly disciplines.

One could argue that practical skills are essential for a quality life. No matter the career path, every student should be able to tackle real-life issues. For example, an individual who is unfortunate enough to suffer financially could ultimately learn to manage money with the aim of improving his living conditions. Although he had not been able to land a high paying job, the applied skills he learned would facilitate his well-being.

Conversely, the purpose of institutions of education is to build the best possible future for young peers. Academic subjects such as biology, mathematics and physics are the foundation to a fulfilling work life in medicine, engineering, etc. These scholarly fields induce intellect, boost mental capacity and insight which is necessary to a bright future. For instance, a youngster with an unbelievable knowledge in biology would practically secure a very rewarding job in medicine which ultimately leads to a promising future.

To summarize, practical skills are essential to a somewhat satisfactory life as it is beneficial to everyone. However, academic pursuits are the sole purpose of education in hopes of building a stable future for all. In my opinion, schools should continue to prioritize academic fields but also devote a few hours to teach pragmatic skills.