"Some people believe that social media has a positive impact on society, while others think it does more harm than good. Discuss both views and give your opinion."

Social media has been an integral part of our daily lives, as we live in globalized era. Some people argue that social media create positive impact of society, while others think the drawbacks outweigh the benefits. This essay will discuss both views and explain why I believe that social media has more positive impact than negative impact.

One major reason why social media is more advantageous is it makes communication across the globe easier. It allows us to communicate with friends, neighbours, or family although we are separated by distance. Many people live in different regions, and it does not prevent them from communicating with each other. With the existence of social media, people do not have to book a flight or visit their family in different region just to keep-in-touch and communicate with each other. For example, I live in Jakarta and I am not required to book a flight just to talk to my aunt in Singapore. Social media helps me to talk with my aunt through direct messages. Therefore, social media makes communication easier.

On the other hand, social media also create several problem – such as high dependency on them. People who heavily rely on social media tend to have poor eyesight and do exercise less frequently, resulting in a sedentary lifestyle. This bad habit can lead to various health problems, such as obesity, diabetes, and heart disease. Moreover, excessive use of social media also weaken direct communication skills, making them difficult to share strong bonds in society. In addition, overuse of social media may negatively affect mental health, resulting in lower self-confidence, loneliness, and anxiety. Although they are connected online, they may feel isolated in reality.

In conclusion, although social media has negative impacts, the ability to help us in communicating make it more beneficial overall.