Some people believe that song lyrics which glorify violence and criminal lifestyles should be banned. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of such a ban.

Whether or not songs that contain information about violence and crime should be banned has been a controversial question in modern society.In evaluating this issue, this essay will consider the possible developments after the banning of songs glorifying criminal lifestyle and also the drawbacks of this decision.

.To start with, (banning … may bring a lot of benefits).This type of music can lead to this type of music being romantic criminal lifestyle can be easily romanticised by people so this will lead to the disrespect of the law in the society. One evident benefit of restricting violent kind of songs is that there will be no more opportunity to let people, especially vulnerable individuals, make criminal behaviour seem appealing or desirable. For example, after listening to music which contains lyrics about smoking, violence and crime a person might think that this kind of behaviour is acceptable and even approved. Hence, banning the access to such music tracks which glorify lawless and deviant lifestyle can lead to the cultural improvements in a society.

Nevertheless, some people fight for accepting this kind of music in a society as they believe that banning it can lead to more serious social problems. In other words, people are convinced that bans can result in widespread censorship which means that the suppression of unpopular opinions can appear in a society. For instance, in the eighties in the USA there was the rise of music promoting criminal lifestyle. Soon, music channels began to restrict the broadcast of these songs which contributed to the formation of opinions about the negative impact of this genre on young people and the suppression of the voices of artists raising important social issues. Thus, the ban has created a big societal issue.

In conclusion, restricting the songs which contain violent lyrics can be effective as it will help to improve the level of cultural enlightenment in a society because people will not be able to listen about criminal lifestyle anymore. However, people must be sure that their rights to self-expression has not been violated. The absence of this fact will lead to the adverse effects on the development of the society. For that reason, I believe that the disadvantages outweigh the advantages.