Some people believe that spending money on preserving old buildings is a waste, as new buildings are more useful. Do you agree or disagree?

In today’s world, there is an ongoing debate about whether spending on preserving old buildings is a waste or not. While some people are convinced that using money to preserve old buildings is good, others hold the view that new buildings are more useful. This essay will examine both sides of the argument and explain why I tend to agree with the former view.

Firstly, spending money on preserving old buildings is beneficial to show the beauty of a country. To be more specific, old buildings reflect the history, culture and tradition of the nation. Therefore, it helps people understand how they lived in the past. Moreover, preserving old buildings can bring economic benefits through tourism since tourists like to visit cities with old and beautiful buildings. As the result, citizens, hotels and restaurants can make money from tourists.

On the other hand, some people think that new buildings are more useful. In the other words, preserving old buildings can be expensive and the government may need to spend a large amount of money on maintenance and repairs. While this money can be used for health care and education.

To sum up, I am strongly convinced preserving old buildings brings several benefits such as developing the economy and preserving history and culture. However, as far as I am concerned people should choose the most effective and suitable way of conserving old buildings.