Some people believe that spending money on preserving old buildings is a waste, as new buildings are more useful. Do you agree or disagree?

Many believes that management and maintainence of aged buildings are costly and hence, they should be broken down and replaced with newer ones. This essay agrees with the suggestion of the construction of newer structures. This is because not only does modern monuments improve the townscape but they also contribute to the citizens safety and wellbeing.

Firstly, contemporary architecture enhances the cityscape which can later contribute heavily to the economy of the country. With proper urban planning, government can create more oppurtunities to seperate residential areas from the commercial hubs. This will attract not only influential companies but also tourists. Global brands and companies, such as Google or Tesla, might invest in a branch of their main office in one of the newly built buildings while tourists will visit for the impressive structures, allowing the country to gain increased revenue which will later compensate for the cost of construction.

Despite the benefits to the economy, newer buildings are essential, especially for the safety of the residents of the city. It is no surprise that the occurence of natural disasters, namely floods and earthquakes, have increased greatly in the last decade. Aged structures were not built to withstand these circumstances. For example, the 7.5 magnitude earthqauke in Venezuela led to not only hundreds and thousands of deaths with even a greater number injured, but also left a significant dent in the economy as funds were spent on rescue programs. Hence, creating properly planned, safe and modern buildings should be the governments first priority to prevent any future hostile situations like this from happening.

In conclusion, all situations lead to the agreement that replacing old structures with more planned architecture comes with great benefits. It will not only improve the economy of the nation but will also protect the general public from catastrophies.