Some people believe that sport is an essential part of school life for children, while others feel it should be purely optional. Discuss these opposing views and give your own opinion

A number of people believe that sport should be an optional part at school, while others contend that it plays a significant role in children’s life. While both viewpoints are valid, I prefer towards the later.

On the one hand, there are some primary reasons why some opine that sport should be chosen instead of compulsory. One of the main reasons is many children cannot play sport due to health reasons. For instance, children who suffer from lung diseases, such as asthma, bronchitis, are advised by doctors to avoid participating in strenuous physical activities to prevent them from breathing difficulties. In addition, some believe that playing sport at school is time consuming. Some students think that they can use these time to focus more on subjects, such as science, mathematics, and physics, which they believe are helpful and beneficial for their future to find a job.

On the other hand, I would argue that sport should be an essential part of school due to several reasons. The first reason is that sport can help to improve individuals’ health. Doing physical activities helps students strengthen their stamina, agility and immune system as well as reducing risk of health problems, such as cardiovascular disease, obesity. Moreover, playing sport helps to develop some crucial skills. By respect both team mates and opponents, students can gain opportunities to interact with others, leading to the development of teamwork and communication skills.

To sum up, although both views are valid to some extend, I still believe that sport should be an indispensable part at school because of its benefits.