Some people believe that students should study abroad, while others think it is better to study in their home country. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

In recent years, the number of students who study overseas has shown a significant growth. Although pursuing higher education abroad requires a huge financial support, I believe that it is an essential way to get a better life. This essay will discuss both perspectives.

On one hand, advocates are concerned that the amount of money spent in supporting students studying abroad is only a waste because of several reasons. Firstly, the inability to accomplish the study in the required timeline leads to the additional costs. To illustrate, some students who do not meet the minimum standard of graduation, perhaps because of heavy workloads, should pay for extra semesters in order to be eligible to graduate. Secondly, students’ living expenses may increase due to the fluctuation of currency. For instance, Indonesian rupiah has declined considerably against the US dollar, causing students in the USA to demand a huge amount of money in order to fulfill their needs, such as tuition fee, accommodation, transportation, and health insurance. This situation will also drive people to consider enrolling in domestic universities.

On the other hand, despite the drawbacks, I believe that pursuing education overseas has brought several benefits. Initially, studying abroad opens wider opportunities for students in the future. Many people consider to enroll in international universities because the career path is more promising than domestic universities. For example, Indonesian students who study in the USA majoring in teaching English often get an offer to teach at English-speaking schools after graduating. Meanwhile in Indonesia, it is more difficult to find a job that aligns with the field of study, even with a high level of education. In addition, overseas universities and schools provide advanced facilities that fully support the learning process, such as professional science labs for science students and state-of-the-art sports arenas for those who want to be an athlete. These kinds of facilities may not only help enhance students’ skills but also prepare them for real world experiences.

In conclusion, some people argue that studying abroad requires exorbitant funding particularly when students cannot fulfill the demands to accomplish their program and there is a remarkable rise in living costs. Although it has several drawbacks, I believe that the potential job opportunities and quality of schools and universities should be strongly considered.