Some people believe that studying literature is important for individual character building, while others think that it is a waste of time. Discuss both points of view and provide your own opinion.

People are divided on the importance of the study of literature. Some individuals opine that studying literature is significant for constructing a person’s personality, while others believe that it is futile to study literature. In this essay, I will examine both perspectives. I am personally in favour of the former view.

Generally speaking, there are a wide range of reasons why some people believe that studying literature, such as poetry, is useless. Firstly, they say that studying practical skills such as business and technical education. This is because in the modern era you have to learn those skills. Moreover, they focus on academic subjects, which would help them attain a better life. So, students should not waste their time on the study of literature.

On the other hand, it not only has disadvantages but also benefits for the study of literature. Perhaps the one reason is that literature has cultural value. Cultures are built on stories, and these stories form literature. Historical stories illustrate how it would feel to live through famous battles, famines, times of prosperity, and times of depression. For example, a book “Liberation War Museum” in 1971 can help us understand what people faced through when Bangladesh was going through the freedom struggle. The other point of studying literature is that it expands our horizons. When we read a piece of literature, we get to read about life experience through the eyes of someone other than ourselves. Finally, by studying literature, we get to know about new vocabulary. When we read, we can know about new words that we have never seen or heard before. For a real-life example, when I was reading a novel, I had known so many new words, and now I have a huge vocabulary list.

To sum up, it has more merits than demerits, i think. the study of literature is very essential. We need to study literature to comprehend the world.