Restoration of old buildings in many cities involves enormous government expenditure. It would be more beneficial to spend this money to build new houses and roads. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

City development would be planned in various ways according to the priorities. One of the main aspects regarding it could be renovation of the old buildings. Besides, the new residential buildings and road construction are also an option to promote the life quality of the cities. The city expenditure should be first invested on the renovation of the old buildings rather than construction of the new infrastructures. The reasons are given in the followings in favor of the historical preservation of the city.

First and foremost, every major city owns deep historical roots dating back to thousands of years. The city history basically involves the old buildings as a means of the signs. Hence, historical heritage would definitely matter to the cities for their endless existence. Based on it, the city council should consider the maintenance of the old buildings more than the construction of the new structures. In other words, it would be possible to construct new buildings so many times. However, the historical buildings cannot be renewed once they have been no more in use. As a result, preservation of the properties inherited from the past should be a focal point of the city development.

In addition, the new buildings and infrastructure would possibly destroy the city beauty in the certain ways. Particularly, the new construction projects are likely to gain profits instead of providing a public service. Hence, they could present no major benefits for the city inhabitants. In this case, the old buildings would be ignored despite their historical importance. Overall, the city expenditure could be wasted completely from the officials by prioritizing the commercial construction projects.

All in all, the original structures should maintain their existence as a historical treasure. At the time of losing the valuable historical buildings, the city officials should be more careful about the historical heritage while planning their development plans. In the end, the further generations would be able to witness the history by means of the corresponding preserved buildings.