Restoration of old buildings in many cities involves enormous government expenditure. It would be more beneficial to spend this money to build new houses and roads. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is often argued that governments should invest in old building restoration instead of the construction of modern infrastructure such as new houses, workplaces and roads. From my perspective, I disagree with this statement, and believe that new infrastructure should be prioritized due to its benefits, including social welfare and economic growth.

One compelling argument in favor of constructing new functional infrastructure is its capability in supporting the public. When capitals are channeled into the addition of new multifunctional structures, it can offer solutions to numerous social problems that many countries face, such as informal housing, job shortage and traffic accidents. Subsequently, the standard of living of people can be improved considerably, thereby, contributing directly to a nation’s economic development. To illustrate, China’s social housing program has helped with giving its people security for their well-being and career prospects, thereby tackling the country’s homelessness.

Policy-makers ought to inject revenue into developing commercial infrastructure and transportation for its economic potentials. When new international trading centers are constructed, they can attract a large number of foreign investors that can provide new job opportunities to the workforce. For instance, high-end fashion brands such as Nike or Gucci often place stores in Hanoi’s trading centers, which not only improves shopping experience but also provides well-paying jobs to workers, contributing directly to the city’s economy.

On the other hand, it is true that many people believe nations should emphasize restoring old structures over new ones due to their cultural and historical values. While I admit that such buildings should be well preserved since they hold great importance that cannot be recreated in the future, focusing on new infrastructure construction needs to be prioritized because of the demands of the growing population.

To encapsulate, despite historical buildings’ traditional and cultural values, it is advisable that governments invest in the development of new residential buildings, commercial centers, and transportation facilities due to their beneficial impacts on the public’s quality of living and the country’s economic growth.