In some cities, public parks and open spaces are changed into gardens where local residents can grow their own fruit and vegetables. Do you think the benefits outweigh the disadvantages?

In contemporary society, some community spaces, such as public parks or open areas, have been transformed into communal gardens that enable residents to plant fruit and vegetables. From my perspective, this transition is highly beneficial for social development.

This phenomenon might bring about multiple advantages. First and foremost, such practice appears to be a practical solution to land scarcity in some large cities, where the unprecedentedly growing population has posed a serious threat to urban space usage. In fact, urban planners today tend to prioritize land funds for housing and other essential public services, such as hospitals or schools, leading to the deficiency in space for gardens and green zones. As a result, this approach might improve the effectiveness of land use, thereby facilitating the hobby of gardening, which is favorable for people’s mental health. Moreover, as this scheme can significantly contribute to the increase in green space in urban areas, more shade might be provided thanks to fruit trees, which, in turn, helps reduce carbon emissions and urban temperature.

In contrast, opponents of this transition argue that it can greatly reduce spaces for other essential outdoor activities, such as doing exercise or going jogging. This might negatively affect those who have interests in such activities, which can worsen the situation, since these people have already faced the shortage of practice space. However, I believe that urban planners and architects should take this factor into consideration by presenting comprehensive designs where plants can be grown while people are still able to engage in other outdoor activities. In other words, the designs that only meet both stakeholders’ demands will be applied to construct these new community areas.

In conclusion, while I acknowledge certain negative impacts on some groups of residents, I am of the opinion that this initiative is highly crucial for large cities, since it may create more space for leisure activities and alleviate some urban issues, such as air pollution and urban heat traps.