In some cities, public parks and open spaces are changed into gardens where local residents can grow their own fruit and vegetables. Do you think the benefits outweigh the disadvantages?

In recent years, it has become increasingly common for local people to replace parks and green places into gardens that own vegetables and fruit are grown in here, especially in rural areas. While garden has certain disadvantages, I strongly believe that its advantages are more substantial and ultimately outweigh the drawbacks.

On the one hand, those who support gardens argue that it brings a range of advantages. One of the most significant benefits of gardening is its positive impact on health. This is because, they control how to food produced and avoid to use chemicals or pesticides that harmful for fruits. As a result, fresh food contains more nutrients and tastes better which helps people to be more healthy. Moreover, growing food at home helps residents save money on groceries, especially for low-income families. For instance, many families do not have enough money to purchase fresh fruits and vegetables, so growing their own food helps them to save money. In addition, it improves community bonding because local gardens bring people together and encourage cooperation among neighbors. Consequently, people feel more connected and are willing to support each other.

On the other hand, I believe that, in general, local people who convert parks and open spaces into gardens may face significant problems. One common challenge is that these individuals have to take care of their gardens and manage them properly because, without maintenance, they may become unattractive and it influences productivity of fruits and vegetables. Therefore, gardens require regular care and management. Another problem is that it leads loss of recreational spaces because public parks are important for relaxation and sports, and changing them into gardens reduce their opportunities. So that, if local parks and open spaces may disappear, we might face this kind of problems.

In conclusion, despite some disadvantages, I firmly believe that the advantages of gardening clearly outweigh the drawbacks due to their long-term benefits.