Young people who commit serious crimes, such as a robbery or a violent attack should be punished in the same way as adults. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Youth who engage in serious crimes, like robbery or violent assaults, should be punished just like adults. While some argue that serious crimes should be punished equally regardless of age, others believe that juveniles should be treated differently due to their lack of maturity. I can see both sides of this argument and in this essay, I will support my opinion with examples.

On the one hand, some believe that juveniles must be punished as adults for serious crimes. This is because the severity of the crime is more important than the age of the person who committed it. In addition, some young people are fully aware of their actions, particularly when committing serious crimes such as drug dealing. For instance, adults who plan offense understand the consequences of this. Therefore, severe punishments may be justified.

On the other hand, there are strong reasons to believe that juveniles differ from adults who should not receive the same punishments. Firstly, because of their psychological and emotional immaturity. Secondly, it is due to impulsiveness and environmental pressure. For example, rehabilitation programs help reduce crime recidivism. Therefore, systems should do focus on rehabilitation, not just punishment.

In my opinion, a balanced approach is more effective. While serious crimes must be punished with severe penalties, it is also important to take into account age and circumstances. For instance, punishment should include educational and psychology programs. This can help reduce crime recidivism and it is more fairly.

In conclusion, juveniles must be punished as adults for serious crimes, I believe that punishment should include educational and psychology programs. Young people should be responsible, but not on an equal basis with adults.