Young people who commit serious crimes, such as a robbery or a violent attack should be punished in the same way as adults. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In recent years, there has been a growing debate of whether young criminals should be punished in the same way as adults. While some people argue that they are not old enough to be responsible for their actions, I have a different perspective.

To begin with, some claim that the awareness of juveniles is still developing and not fully formed. Moreover, their control ability are not as developed as adults. However, teenager have enough intelligence and thinking to understand the consequences of what they will do. For instance, when we watch news on the television, adolescents even have perfect intentions and plans before they commit crimes.

Furthermore, if youngsters would not be responsible for their actions in the same way as adults, there will be inequality in our society. Victims or even their family not only suffered from heart-breaking, but also anxiety. They must be strictly punished like the way victims experienced. Unfairness in the community will disappear and the crime rate can significantly lower, contributing to a meaningful and happy world.

Additionally, equivalent punishment is a deterrent to their peers who are likely to become criminals. Imagine if a teenager is tried in court as an adult, others will become more aware of the consequences of criminal behavior. That will discourage them to engage in any criminal activities. In Vietnam, young offenders under the age of eighteen often commit crime as a murder. This has caused to progressive increase in young crime. Therefore, if strict solutions were applied, adolescents would understand their wrong actions.

To sum up, different individuals see this issue from contrasting perspectives. However, I will always keep my opinion that youngsters have to be punished like adults.