Restoration of old buildings in many cities involves enormous government expenditure. It would be more beneficial to spend this money to build new houses and roads. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In some big cities, management of old buildings cost more money. There is an opinion that, developing and building of new houses and roads should get this budget. Old buildings have both negative and positive impacts in the state and the city structures, the reasons are outlined below.

On the one hand, all over the world, there are some old buildings, which have historical, architectural and educational values and context. In this cases, the ancient buildings should be more prioritise in reform, rebuild and reconstruction to protecting local and global history. For example, in some countries such as London, French, Italy, and Germany have some old infrastructures that are related to some historical events like World War 2, colonialism, and modernization. The numerous numbers of tourists visit every year to these places to enjoy and learn about the evaluation of history and culture. Also, these countries earn huge amounts of money from tourism sectors. So, if the state develops and take notable steps to restore old buildings which may result benefited country economy.

On the other hand, there are a lot of buildings in some big cities which do not have any proper historical context as well as also in vulnerable position of collapse that may result unnecessary death of people. These buildings are also take places in the city. The government should make list of these buildings and remove from city structures. Also, most of the old buildings are 2-3 stairs and not ideal for living. For example, if the government replaces these buildings by new and modern sky scrappers buildings that provide facilities such as super shops, gymnasiums, and medical centers then the citizen will get more benefits. Moreover, cut off from the restoration cost’s, the state can allocate more money to develop public transportation and roads by making new subway, metro-rail, and increasing the numbers of public vehicles.

In conclusion, it depends on early age buildings historical, social and cultural contexts that should be restored or not. Also, factors like tourism, education and architectural contexts play vital roles. In my opinion, the government should make list of the old buildings and give prioritise those buildings should restore or not by archaeological evidence.