some people believe that technology has made man more social. To what extent do you agree?

Some people opine that with the advancements in technology, humanity has become more communicative, while others consider the opposite point. Personally, I solidly agree with the former opinion and this essay will discuss both the former and the latter perspectives.

On the one hand, the technologies have provided humankind with the ability to communicate over broader distances. This implies that humans nowadays have a hold of a tool, which allows contact from almost every part of the world. This resulted in a striking increase in the number of connections between people across the earth. To illustrate, in the 16th century an average person had only up to 20 acquaintances for their whole lifetime, whereas now, with the development of globalization and technologies, an average individual gets 20 new acquaintances every year. This example highlights that in general, people have become significantly more social.

On the other hand, technology has made some individuals less communicative. This suggests that remote communication has become firmly popular, however, face-to-face communication has declined. As a consequence, a number of people started to be more awkward and unready for a real conversation. According to a survey of the Hungry(arian) National University, which has discovered that in 2020, around 20% of Hungarian adolescents have become less sociable due to their social networks overuse. This survey clearly illustrates that technology has also induced an opposite effect.

To encapsulate, despite providing humanity a variety of communication opportunities and making people more social overall, technology also leads some to lose their social skills