Some people believe that the government should not spend money on international aid when they have their own disadvantaged people the homeless and unemployed. To what extent do you agree or disagree.

There has been recent debate concerning whether or not governments should allocate money to global aid if they already have problems related to disadvantaged citizens such as homelessness and poverty. However, I partly agree with this school of thought given that such a reform should only be applied to less affluent countries where combating poverty and homelessness deserve prioritization but not wealthy nations.

On the one hand, there are several reasons why less developed nations should prioritize fighting poverty and homelessness. This is because in these nations impoverished and homeless people account for a major share of the populace and impoverishment is often associated with a host of health risks including under-nutrition, cancer, heart diseases and more avoidable deaths. Such problems tend to reduce productivity of the workforce and hence deter economic growth in the long term; therefore, mitigating these problems should be emphasized instead of allocating funds for international aid. Vietnam is a typical example of this phenomenon because in the 1990s the government did not participate in many international aids, they diverted an outsized share of the national budget towards erecting buildings and providing accommodation to the homeless and sponsoring education for a higher rate of employability. This policy has significantly promoted national development.’

On the other hand, I would also contend that the states of entrenched economies have substantial national budgets to spend on global aid. In fact, though issues related to the less privileged people exist in all nations, such mature economies have tremendous financial support to both counter their problems and donate to the world fund. A small share of the government fund is not likely to affect key aspects of these nations; however, this amount may be equal to the whole budget of an underdeveloped country. An example that concretely illustrates this point of view would be in China and America, where the capital allocation is billions of dollars and donating several millions to global aid is only a minor matter. In contrast, developing countries such as Madagascar and Nigeria might not afford this amount for international aid.

In conclusion, although there are disadvantaged people in all corners of the world, developed nations should shoulder the responsibility of donating to the world fund. I believe in developing countries solving the problem of poverty and homelessness is of utmost importance.