Some people believe that the government should provide financial assistance to all artists including painters, musicians and poets. Others think that it is a waste of money. Discuss both points of view and give your opinion.

People have a varied opinion whether the government should assist a financial support to the artists or not However, while it is true that the government should help artists, I would argue that spending money on artists is not a waste of money

It is often said that art forms are an integral part of the nation’s cultural heritage. They maintain that by providing financial assisting to artists, the government can help protect the cultural heritage of the country.

Moreover, they point out the advent of films and television has considerably affected the popularity of other art forms, and without such support from the governments could mean that many ethnic art forms will die out.

However, despite this argument, I would argue that spending money on arts and artists is wasteful as there are several other sectors that desperately need government funding. For example, in many undevelopeo and developing countries millions of people do not have an access to safe drinking water, and even proper education for many children s beyond reach. Meeting these requirements is far more important than protecting the nation’s art forms from extinction.

In conclusion i tend to feel that the government support in arts is unjustified, and therefore, could be better spend on other development factors which are much needed.