Some people believe that there should be fixed punishments for each type of crime. Others, however, argue that the circumstances of an individual crime, and the motivation for committing it, should always be taken into account when deciding on the punishment.

It is a controversial issue whether each kind of criminals should be semtenced with fixed punishments or it should vary depending on the reasons and situation. However, I strongly hold the view that, like different type of crimes, punishments should also be various for objective law.

To embark on, a group of people opine that, it does not matter how dangerous illegal act the criminals commit, all of them should be sentenced by the same punishment. The main reason why they think like this is to prevent all kinds of crimes. To illustrate, both robbers and rapists must be sentenced by the death penalty. But defenders of this view should take the account that, sometimes these offenders commit crime unwillingly or by accident, like people who rob bread because of poverty.

On the other hand, it would be more democratic to choose punishments according to the consequences of crimes. There are lots of crimes which ruin the people’s and families’ life, like murder, rape, human-trafficing, etc. While these type of illegal acts must be punished by capital punishment to balance the human rights and protect public safety, light crimes, such as pickpocketing, fraud can be sentenced by other ways.

To sum up, from some people’s perspective, punishments should be fixed for all criminals, however, in my view, it depends on reasons and results of crimes.