Some people believe that time spent on television, video and computer games can be valuable for children. Others believe this may have negative effects on a child's development. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

There is a debate over how gadgets affect children’s health, with some saying that time dedicated on TV, video and computer games can be precious for children and others arguing this may effect adversely on a child’s overall growth. In my opinion, while TV and video games have some benefits, the negative impact of such gadgets are significant to children’s overall wellbeing.

TV and video games can be efficient way to develop new essential skills. This is because TV provides many educational programs that are related to science, history, and math. This advantage of gadgets make it simple to learn and develop new skills. For example, children can learn about the history or science by watching TV programs or learn new language through useful apps such as Duolingo. Furthermore, children can enhance critical thinking, decision-making, and problem-solving skills by just playing computer or mobile games. Therefore, these approaches can be effective to learn academic disciplines and upgrade new abilities that are critical for children’s overall development.

However, the downsides of TV and screen games are far greater. One of the major drawbacks of screen time is associated with health issues. The excessive amount of screen time can cause serious health issues such as eye strain and obesity. In other words, children can become dependent on games or screens, which may result in sedentary lifestyle, reduced attention span, and less time for leisure activities. This means TV, mobile and computer games have an adverse effect for children’s development.

In conclusion, although TV and mobile games may entail some advantages, their negative effect are problematic for children’s overall wellbeing and development.