Some people believe that universities should only accept students with the highest marks, while others believe that people of all ages should be allowed to attend universities, even if they did not do well in school. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Nowadays, there has been a heated debate on whether every people deserve to be accepted in the university with no exception. Some people believe that only the ones who are academically good should be accepted, while others argue everyone can go to university despite how old and good they are at school. This essay will discuss both views containing personal opinion.

On the one hand, the main reason why they stand with a term that only the smart one who can go to university is because competition produces the best student. For example, in a high demanded universities such as Harvard and Stanford, accepting all the applicants is impossible as they have a maximum quota. This policy resulted in to harder requirements and people have to compete to be able study there. The competition encourages student to study harder to meet the requirements that prints the best.

On the other hand, that concept cannot be applied to all universities. The alternative should be provided to accommodate they who not really good in school or too old. The presence of private university may solve the problem by allowing every people go there as the less competition will make it reachable. However, that scheme must have a cost regarding the quality of teaching, curriculum, and facility as the competition is not there.

In conclusion, universities have a right to decide their policies, whether it is generally achieveable or not. However, the balance between them should be arranged by governments to make sure educational institutions goes well