Some people believe that unpaid community service should be a compulsory part of high school programmes

There is an opinion that unpaid community service should be mandatory for secondary schools. Although it can have a good influence on schools and their students, it can also cause problems. In this essay, I will discuss the positive and negative aspects of this view and give my opinion at the end.

First, community service is one of the ways of improving students’ personality as well as their knowledge in school; If it is compulsory, it will be taken more seriously and it will make students responsible persons. On the other hand, many students are fugitive from compulsion or they may even not be interested in many of these social services. Thus, this not only does not improve students’ social skills but also makes them avoid team or charity works. For instance, forcing one of the students to teach sports to younger children while they hate it could lead to a bad teaching or misbehaving with children which could cause problems instead of doing some good deed.

Second, if it is voluntarily, it means that these good deeds will be done with their desire; therefore, it will lead to positive changes in volunteer students; doing so, they can express their personal opinions with self confidence and increase their creativity in teamworks so that they can be better members of their family or professional workers in their job in the future. On the contrary, because of the hardships of the volunteer work, few students could agree with its terms; for instance, many students prefer unhealthy activities like playing on their phones for hours to social services while it can strengthen their communication skills.

In conclusion, I believe that community service being compulsory could put students’ mental health at risk and effect their personality very badly but at least at volunteer work, each individual are going for it willingly; thus, they will see its good influences in their life. Therefore, I disagree with the statement.