Some people believe that unpaid community service should be a compulsory part of high school programmes

Some people believe that compulsory unpaid community services such as coaching sports to younger children, helping to improve the neighbourhood, and volunteering for charity should be included in high school programmes. While carrying out community service for students can be a burden, which can lead to lower concentration on their favourite activities, I agree with this viewpoint as local people can benefit from services at no charge. Additionally, students can learn important skills that can help in their future careers.

In the contemporary world, an increasing number of individuals, including high school pupils, tend to live busy lifestyles. Many students are engaged in their hobbies, and carrying out community services can be a burden for them as it may reduce their ability to fully concentrate on their interests. When students are forced to perform public services for local households regularly, they often neglect their hobbies due to exhaustion and insufficient time for their interests. On top of that, the deprivation of their favourite activities can lead to lower satisfaction with volunteering programmes. Lower job satisfaction leads to lower productivity. Therefore, schools should allow students to choose whether to perform community services or not.

On the other hand, there are numerous high-quality services requiring a high amount of payment from households. Some individuals struggle to afford such services. If education includes compulsory unpaid services provided by high school students, local people can take advantage of these services. Students coaching sports allows young children to participate without payment, which creates opportunities for families with financial difficulties. Instead of recruiting workers with service fees to improve the neighbourhood, reliance on students can be more beneficial in terms of efficiency and finance. The main possible reason for their productivity is energy and ambition, which results in intense performance in various services.

Moreover, the advantages of carrying out such activities are far more substantial for young amateurs. High school students who actively participate in such volunteering activities can improve their social skills and gain experience in working with people. If students face challenges during their programme, they try to overcome obstacles independently or by asking for help from local people, which leads to critical thinking and the improvement of communication skills. In the near future, after gaining knowledge, they can use these experiences in business without being inexperienced and in society to build healthy relationships. Hence, providing public services can be advantageous for personal growth.

In conclusion, even though students have to sacrifice spending more time on their favourite hobbies, the benefits of providing public services for local people are far more significant. Households who cannot afford services can benefit from free services, and students who actively provide public amenities can also benefit by gaining useful skills and experience to use in their future careers.