Some people believe that we should not study history, as it has little or nothing to tell us.Do you agree or disagree.

In recent times, advancements in technology have profoundly limited the importance of historical events and subjects in individuals’ lives. Given that some people believe that they should not study history, as it has nothing to offer, but I totally disagree with this opinion.

On the one hand, the supporters of learning from the past argue that it plays an essential role in shaping individuals’ minds. To elaborate, reading about historical events, artifacts, articles, and many other things, people not only understand the importance of their existence but also develop reasoning skills, decision-making skills and a brain power. In addition, if individuals understand the values offered by history, they can make their both future and present better. For instance, past events offer information about the problems faced by our ancestors as well as the actions taken by them to overcome from them. As a result, having knowledge of history will help individuals enhance their analytical, taking proactive actions, which bring effective results.

On the other hand, in this digital era, people have become dependent on artificial intelligent to receive solutions for any problems. As a result, opponents of learning history believe that people should emphasize learning science, computer and other subjects that offer quick solutions and results rather than giving the importance to history. Nevertheless, despite offering substantial results by the latest technologies, they often fail to build fundamental pioneers in human’s life. Overdependence on technologies prevents the development of critical thinking skills and cognitive abilities, which significantly gain by reading history.

In conclusion, although at some extend science and technologies have replaced the history in people’s lives, the importance of history cannot be neglected. In my opinion, individuals should study history for their overall personal development and well-being.